Read receipts and typing indicators
Turn off read receipts and typing indicators for everyone, or read receipts for one person.
On this page
Read receipts
Read receipts are the colored ticks that show someone has read your message.
- Open Settings > Privacy.
- Turn Read receipts off or on.
If you turn them off, you won't send or receive read receipts. They're always on in group chats: turning them off only applies to one-to-one chats.
For one person
Open someone's profile, tap Advanced privacy, and turn off Read Receipts (This user is not told when you read their messages). This can't turn them back on if they're off for everyone.
Typing indicators
Turn off Typing indicators in Settings > Privacy and you won't send or see "typing…" and "recording…" in chats or groups.
Was this article helpful?
Thanks for letting us know.
Sorry this didn't help. Contact support and tell us what you were looking for.